LA Justice Hall of Fame Announces 2009 Honorees

Press Release


Contact Person:  Cathy Fontenot, CCE

Contact Number:  225.655.2897

ANGOLA, LA. – Department of Public Safety and Corrections Secretary James M. LeBlanc, Louisiana State Penitentiary Warden Burl Cain and The Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum Foundation are proud to announce the following, highly distinguished individuals, as 2009 inductees to the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame.

  • The Late Sheriff Bolivar Bishop (DeRidder)
  • Chief Judge Burrell J. Carter First Circuit Court of Appeals (Greensburg)
  • The Honorable Morris E. Easley, Jr. (Greensburg)
  • The Late Honorable Camille Francis Gravel, Jr. (Alexandria)
  • The Honorable Harry J. Morel, Jr. (Hahnville)
  • Louisiana Supreme Court Justice Chet D. Traylor (Columbia)
  • Sheriff Jeffrey F. Wiley (Donaldsonville)

In addition to these awards, the prestigious Sheriff Harry Lee Memorial Law Enforcement Award of Excellence will be presented to the Honorable Deputy Joe D. Smith of Ouachita Parish Sheriff’s Office.

The Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum is proud home to the LA Justice Hall of Fame and encourages all interested to attend the tribute and appreciation events honoring the above “heroes in justice” on Friday, July 10, 2009.

1:30 p.m.: A free, open to the public reception at the Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum, located just outside the gates of the historic prison at the end of Highway 66 in West Feliciana Parish.

2:00 p.m.: Ribbon-cutting ceremony at the Museum to reveal exhibit cases on the lives and accomplishments of the inductees.

5:00 p.m.: Pre-purchased $50.00 ticket required to attend the banquet and formal ceremonies at Baton Rouge’s Boudreaux’s Restaurant at 2647 Government Street (ticket price includes catered meal with entertainment by the award-winning Governor Jimmie Davis Band).

Tickets and information may be obtained by calling the Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum at 225-655-2592 or

All media may contact:
Cathy Fontenot at 225-655-2897
Gary Young at 225-655-2838