LA Justice Hall of Fame Announces 2010 Honorees

Press Release


Contact Person:  Cathy Fontenot, CCE

Contact Number:  225.655.2897


(Angola, LA.) Department of Public Safety and Corrections Secretary James M. LeBlanc, Louisiana State Penitentiary Warden Burl Cain and The Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum Foundation are proud to announce the following, highly distinguished individuals, as 2010 inductees to the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame.

  • Sheriff Larry C. Deen (Bossier Parish)
  • The Honorable Russel L. Honore’, Lieutenant General US Army (Ret)
  • Louisiana Supreme Court Associate Justice Bernette Joshua Johnson
  • The Late Honorable Jessel M. Ourso, Sr., former Sheriff of Iberville Parish
  • The Late Honorable C. Paul Phelps, former Secretary of the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections
  • Sheriff Stephen W. Prator, (Caddo Parish)
  • The Honorable Warren J. Riley, Former Chief New Orleans Police Department
  • First Circuit Court of Appeal Judge Jewel E. “Duke” Welch

In addition to these awards, the prestigious Law Enforcement Officer of the Year will be presented to Varnado, Louisiana’s Chief of Police, The Honorable Leroy “Slick” Seal.

The Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum is proud home to the LA Justice Hall of Fame and encourages all interested to attend the tribute and appreciation events honoring the above “heroes in justice” on Friday, July 16, 2010.

1:30 p.m. A free, open to the public reception at the Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum, located just outside the gates of the historic prison at the end of Highway 66 in West Feliciana Parish.

2:00 p.m. Ribbon-cutting ceremony at the Museum to reveal exhibit cases on the lives and accomplishments of the inductees.

5:00 p.m. Pre-purchased $50.00 ticket required to attend the banquet and formal ceremonies at Baton Rouge’s Boudreaux’s Restaurant at 2647 Government Street (ticket price includes catered meal with entertainment by the award-winning Gene King Band.

Tickets and information may be obtained by calling the Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum at 225-655-2592 or

All media may contact:
Cathy Fontenot at 225-655-2897
Gary Young at 225-655-2838