Symposium on Re-Entry

Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  January 22, 2010

Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum Foundation

Contact Number:  225.655.2592

Symposium On Re-Entry

(Angola, La.) – On March 6th 2010, the Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum Foundation invites you to attend a Symposium on Re-Entry (an inmate’s return to society after imprisonment).

Louisiana has the dubious distinction of having the highest incarceration rate per capita of any state in the nation. At present, Louisiana incarcerates almost 40,000 offenders in state prisons and local jails. Approximately 97% of these offenders are returning to our communities at some point. In fact, over 15,000 offenders return to our communities each year from incarceration. Further, our Probation &Parole Division supervises over 60,000 probation and parolees living in our communities. Without planned intervention, education, treatment, and a community with a plan and ready to receive them, half of these offenders will return to incarceration within five (5) years. This means new crimes and victims of crimes in our communities. It means higher prosecution and incarceration rates further burdening our courts, prisons, and taxpayers who must pay the bill. It means fractured families, as we know that when a person is locked up, his or her family suffers and is more likely to need or receive public assistance. This creates a further burden on our communities and weakens the family’s ability to assist the offender in making a successful return to the community.

The Re-Entry Symposium will feature:
Speakers from the National Institute of Corrections
Speakers from Prison Fellowship Ministers.
Bus transportation Friday, March 5, 2010, 1-5 P.M., to tour a tour of a Louisiana Correctional facility ($10.00 per-person).

To register for this event, please go to the Angola Museum website at and click on the link “Symposium Online Registration is now live”. To book a room for the Symposium, call 1-800-362-2779 and mention that your reservation is for the Symposium. For more information or questions you may contact the Museum directly at 225-655-2592.

LSP Museum Foundation Officers

Burl Cain, Warden Sheryl Ranatza, President Huey Perry, Vice President Cathy Fontenot, Secretary Ronnie Jett, Treasurer

LSP Museum Foundation Board of Directors:

Billy D’Aquilla, Morris Easley, Jack Field, Marianne Fisher-Giorlando, Landry Bonnette,  Rachel Hall, Benny Harris, Connie Geter, Gayle McGee, David Norwood, Sarah LeBlanc, Stephanie Perrault, Betty Phelps, Anne Shoemake, Eunice Smith, Richard Stalder,  Nadine Tanner, Sue Turner, Michael Wynne, Gary Young,  Kathryn Ward